The Block Court Building was built in 1890 and was originally known as the Athenaeum Club. The City Property Company purchased, and subsequently remodeled it in the 1930’s. With the addition of the shopping arcade, it was renamed as the Block Court, with the lettering emblazoned on the Collins Street entrance in moderne jazz typography. The flooring showcases a multi-coloured terazzo border, while jazz moderne terracotta and bronze touches enhance the geometric and floral style of the ceiling.
© 2015, roamingpursuits Facebook: roaming pursuits
Twitter: @roamingpursuits Pinterest: roaming pursuits